Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

  • Welcome to Shrink’s Views

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 116 other subscribers
  • Share this Blog

    Bookmark and Share
  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • April 2013
    S M T W T F S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Recent Comments

    Dheeraj Kattula on “Can you please give me…
    Arun on “Can you please give me…
    Dheeraj Kattula on Pehle Hum Hindustani Hain: a…
    Dheeraj Kattula on Pehle Hum Hindustani Hain: a…
    Munaf on Pehle Hum Hindustani Hain: a…
  • Blog Stats

    • 33,281 visitors,since April 2009
  • Meta

The Path: a painting

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on April 27, 2013

the path

Title: The Path

Size: 18 X 27 cm

Medium: Watercolor on Handmade paper

June 2008

I have never written about my development as an artist. I might write that in detail in a future post. Shortly I can say I painted in my secondary school. I had done well and had won many prizes. I pursued science and not art as I felt contribution through science is long lasting and more meaningful. Of course this idea is not completely true. Everything can be very meaningful.

I painted only 2 paintings during my MBBS years [ Medical School]. I worked for three years before going into studies in Psychiatry in CMC, Vellore. I never touched brushes in those periods lasting more than 5 years.

I joined Graham Staines Memorial Hospital in May 2008. The hospital was developing. The challenges here were different from running a fully established setting. I had to learn to relax. I also had time to reflect and enjoy. I watched a couple of paintings being painted on youtube. My long lost love for art got ignited.

I bought a set of watercolours and paper and painted this. I called it “ The Path”. I posted this in orkut, a social network like facebook with the following note.

Life is a journey.Take the walk.
There may be scorching sun,
keep walking.You would soon find shade.
With anyone around talk,
This journey could be fun.
Keep walking.Thats why we are made.

My friends liked it, The encouragement received prompted me to continue painting. I am glad, I took the time out to search for watercolors and paper in the market. I have improved a lot since then. It has happened because – I had started.

All of us have had interests in our childhood and adolescence, which we give up in pursuit of the more ‘practical’ things. May be we should not.  They could add meaning and beauty to life, something that could be missed in success and accomplishment.

2 Responses to “The Path: a painting”

  1. […] The Path: a painting […]

  2. […] The Path: a painting […]

Leave a comment