Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Missed Adoption: a poem

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on February 17, 2012

I did a seminar on Adoption in the Department of Psychiatry today. It was focused on mental health issues regarding adoption. I ended the seminar with a note that adoption is an alternative to abortion. The final power point slide had the following poem. I wrote it from the perspective of Tiny, who was aborted at 19 weeks of gestational  age by her teenage mother.

 

I am now in heaven,

with God on my side.

I wish I had lived,

to grow as a child.

To feel gentle streams,

and play in the rain,

to see sweet dreams,

and feel what is pain.

You snuffed me out

before I could cry.

Wasn’t I as vulnerable

Mom, answer me why?

You could have given me

to others who needed a kid.

There are so many childless,

you could have found a bid.

If you’d given me away,

in my early days,

I ‘d have been quite normal,

in all possible ways.

Had you given me up,

a  few years later,

I’d still have survived,

problems could’nt matter

There are psychiatrists around

to treat possible problems.

I request those living around,

to consider old solutions.

Reject Abortion

It cant correct an error

Consider Adoption

Its so much better.

– Tiny

2 Responses to “Missed Adoption: a poem”

  1. Sandeep said

    A poem which moves anyone who has a ‘heart’…. Keep spreading the Light, Dear brother………

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      Thank you Sandeep.Thanks for your support that day.I could count on you to be pro-life.Let us spur each other to be a voice for the voiceless.

Leave a Reply

 
