Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Walk on a Rainy Night : a painting

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on February 3, 2012

walk on a rainy night

Title: Walk on a Rainy Night

Medium: Postercolor on Paper with plastic knife

Size: 55 x 38 cm

Recently I was checking out few paintings on deviantart.com. I found an artist Leonid Afremov. I liked his style. He uses oil paints and a palette knife. I decided to improvise and use what I can afford. So I bought a set of poster colors instead of oils. I used a plastic knife like the one used for cutting cakes instead of palatte knife.

I was unhappy with ‘Bril’ poster color. It was a bit too watery and was not solid enough to stick to paper and give great texture that I was expecting. I bought Bril, hoping quality would be good.After all most of us in southern India have been using Bril inks from our school days. I still use it for my fountain pen.

I took paint and applied to the paper with the knife with strokes in different directions. I could not blend colors on paper as I could in water colors. Colors were a bit thick for that kind of blend. Thickness did give some texture but I was not typically what I wanted. It was very difficult to control. I thought that as poster colors are opaque I could try putting light colors over the dried darker colors. It did not work that way. I thought I would have advantages of both media but ended having disadvantages of both media. The truth obviously is that I am expecting too much! 🙂

I then took a traditional sable brush and used acrylic white to create the lights and reflections. Probably this has saved the picture to some extent. I liked the silhouette of the trees seen in the background light from the street lights. I also like the couple going for a evening walk despite the rain. In addition to that being good for health, I think it is quite romantic 🙂

Last but not the least, I painted this to mark my first wedding anniversary. It has been a different life, but we are still together 🙂

5 Responses to “Walk on a Rainy Night : a painting”

  1. Nice painting! Improvisations are part of artists life! Good work – keep it up!

  2. BTW – the above comment was a novice’s comment though! I am not an artist …..

    I recently started with acrylics and started liking it….You can see few of my paintings here, when you have time – http://janatenugu.blogspot.com/

  3. Julie said

    Dheeru Bhai,

    This is simply superb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Happy first anniversary.

    GBU

Leave a Reply

 
