Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Sunflowers: a painting

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on January 7, 2012

Sunflowers

Title: Sunflowers

Watercolor on Handmade paper
Original size: 27 x 36 cm
7.1.2012

I thought painting flowers is simple. Why would it be difficult its the same petals all around?!! I was so wrong in my thinking. It is pretty difficult to control the colours from flowing into wrong places.

I laid a wash of chrome yellow mixed with white on the whole paper as an under-painting. The idea of depth was created with smaller size and poor definition of  flowers at a distance and play of color contrast in the foreground. Green stalks were added in form of negative painting to bring the flowers forward.

My family was thrilled looking at this painting. They think brightness of the painting is reflection of my happiness about life ! 🙂

One Response to “Sunflowers: a painting”

  1. Dheeraj Kattula said

    I gifted this painting to Dr Susmita Rajaleelan, my colleague in Department of Psychiatry, who shared her notes with me for my MD exam. Her husband Dr Wesley Rajaleelan, an avid photographer, enjoys my paintings. I am sure this would find a nice wall in their home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
