Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

City street in the night: a painting

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on January 7, 2012

City Street at Night

Title: City Street in the Night
Watercolour on Handmade Paper
Original Size: 36 x 27 cm
25.12.2011 [the afternoon of Christmas day]

Cityscapes are frightening topics to paint. There are too many subjects in the field of vision.

I learnt a principle in recent times that every painting should have a focus and that detail is not important everywhere. I also learnt from blog of Frank Eber that little is much if we could succeed in giving an impression of the subjects. This painting has elements of keeping things loose in the background only giving impression of a busy road.

I used acrylic white for highlights. This helped giving an opaque white effect. random strokes and dots of white gave the impression of busyness of a street.

I had posted this painting in facebook few days ago and I am glad it was liked by my friends. Hope you like it too. 🙂

4 Responses to “City street in the night: a painting”

  1. sudeep koshy kurien said

    Dheeraj dear,
    i didnt know that you are such a good artist!
    May the lord bless you ..and keep going !
    love
    Sudeep

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      Sudeep Cheta,
      Thank you for your comment.I hope to paint more once MD final exams are over in April 2013.
      Wish you and your family a happy and blessed New year.
      Love,
      Dheeraj

  2. Hi there! I understand this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.

    Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a lot
    of work? I am completely new to operating a blog but I
    do write in my journal daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new
    aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

 
