Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Interpretation of Dance: a painting

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on October 30, 2011

Interpretation of Dance

Title:Interpretation of Dance

Watercolour on Handmade paper
29.10.2011
Original size: 30 X 37 cm

Few days ago I saw dance performance of one of my patients. In our case conference I shared my psychodynamic explanations for different aspects of dance that I had witnessed. A friend of mine joked I could write a book ‘Interpretation of Dance’ like the classic ‘ Interpretation of Dreams’ by Sigmund Freud! I got the title for a painting. Of course I am very far from writing anything academic.

By the way the painting has nothing to do with my patients πŸ™‚

Added on 3.12.2011:

The original is found in this post.It was too bright even in natural shadow areas. There were problems in highlights. So I worked on it for some more time.I still am not fully satisfied but I fear spoiling it by overworking on it, as it usually happens in water colours.So we have the version 1.1 today πŸ™‚

Interpretation of Dance 1.1

2 Responses to “Interpretation of Dance: a painting”

  1. sharon daniel said

    her skirt had to be see through and the pose filmy !…..but the picture is “lively” :)… i like it

Leave a Reply

 
