Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Venice-Queen of Adriatic: a painting

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on October 18, 2011

Venice

Title: Venice
Watercolor on Handmade paper
Painted over 2 hours on 8.10.2011
Original size: 35 X 50 cm

I heard first about Venice in 3rd grade, when I read about a cold fox called Shylock in the story “The Merchant of Venice”. In my fourth grade there was a chapter on Venice in English supplementary reader called the “Lovely queen of Adriatic”. I was amazed at a floating city like that. More than 20 years after that I saw the movie “The Italian Job”. I was inspired by the beauty of Venice again. So I painted this scene featuring the grand canal overlooking the The Basilica of St Mary of Health.

4 Responses to “Venice-Queen of Adriatic: a painting”

  1. Looks really good in the picture! Photoshop?!!! But seriously, is there any chance of getting a few free paintings now – they may be a handy investment for later when you become famous!!! Kudos to your diverse talents.

  2. Deepa said

    Great Job!! Watercolors are so diffcult!

    Did you know my parents went to Venice? They went when I was in 7th grade and brought me back a nice lace handkerchief that they told me came from a “Merchant of Venice”. I kept it safe and used it on my wedding day.

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      Thanks Deepa.
      I never knew they had gone to Venice. Good that you kept a hanky for so long!!! I lose hankies so often that I don’t bother maintaining one 🙂 psssst

Leave a Reply

 
