Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Six Rules of Employment

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on June 14, 2010

“  Sir, Is the scientist’s post on nanotechnology project, still vacant?”

“Yes, I think so. We haven’t found the right candidate. We had given an advertisement and interviewed a few candidates… Oh! I remember, you were one of those applicants. Right?”

“ Yes, Sir. My name is Ahista.”

“Oh! Ahista. I do remember. You were the successful one. You were good. You had right qualifications, good track record and good testimonials. You were not ‘clear’ on joining, when we called you up last month. Weren’t you?”

“Yes, Sir. I had some personal issues. I needed more time.”

“Did we not offer you a dead-line before which you had to send your acceptance letter?”

“You did give a comfortable dead line, Sir. I missed it. I was not clear by that time. I am very clear now. I want to join the nano-technology project. That is my mission in life. I am quite convinced.”

“I am really sorry, Ahista. We are looking for people who would build their life and grow with the nanotech project. You have a Master’s degree in Chemistry. You have passed your PhD qualifying exam. You know enough about what nanotech research is about for the past few years. You know about our organization. You know our past. You know our present. You know, where we are heading. You have friends in our organization. You had a brief exposure to our research few years ago and last summer. You had all the inputs needed for you to make a decision. We were recruiting a scientist to be with us for rest of his/ her life. Your PhD would have come through in your walk with us. When you were not ‘clear’ given all these circumstances, I really do not think you were made for working with us.”

“But Sir, I had some personal issues.”

“ Come on, Ahista. You had two months to decide after our call to send in the acceptance mail. We had not considered other applicants for those two months, as we were looking forward for you to join. Then we closed the position. Of course we have not found suitable candidates. You know our work is challenging and not very rewarding. It requires one with commitment, passion and energy to work with us. We do not find that in many…That is OK. The position would wait till we find a suitable candidate.”

“Am I not eligible as a fresh applicant, Sir?

“Ahista, your file is closed. I am sorry. I cannot help you. You have not demonstrated interest in a life-time opportunity. You were the only one to have such a chance. You squandered it. Whatever be your personal issues, I really wonder how they affected you? Wasn’t it a decision for which you were trained for a third of your life?”

“What can I do, now?”

“I am no career counsellor. I am just a scientist. Anyway, I think it is simple wisdom to follow these six rules for your future employment.

  1. Even before you apply, check if the organization’s values and goals are in line with your personal goals. If yes then only apply.
  2. If you get selected, do not even think. Just join. You will enjoy your job.
  3. There will be a time you cannot choose. There would be an urgency to join something. It would be a time when you think any job is better than being unemployed. Then apply to all places, where you are likely to be happy.
  4. If you get in one join it.
  5. If you get in more than one, then choose the better one.
  6. Your friends and family can help you make a better choice.”

“OK. Sir. Thanks for your advice. You need not have given all this, spending your precious time.”

“That is Ok, Ahista. I do understand that you have potential to be a good scientist. All the best.”

15 Responses to “Six Rules of Employment”

  1. Julie Hephzibah said

    Wah re Wah!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fantastic …………. thought provoking……….. phenomenal!!!!!!!

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      Thanks Akka.
      I am sure many readers would think why this dry, obvious and off-beat post should attract your flattering comment.

      The reason is that – you have UNDERSTOOD. 🙂 ROFL

  2. RR said

    Actually friend..getting irritated with this post.. So adding one more rule

    7th rule.

    Dont join there where they put deadline for even ur life´s important decision making!!

    I will say Ahista is the real responsible person and knows the value of commitment much better than those deadline lovers. (If not a fictitious character I want to meet him/her to hug and say congrats)

    I fear whether they dont know that only the lazy people care deadlines because it is their trigger factor to act faster; not the motivation or commitment for the work! But Ahista knows it well, I suppose!! So he/she disregarded deadlines but focussed on the heart´s choice! And came back when could take a strong decision. And see..Ahista took only one more month to return.. not years!! If this scientist could understand well, he would never let such a committed person to leave them.

    Who is this scientist, who put deadline for a candidate, for whom they were waiting particularly and found none else yet to replace him!!?!

    My word for Ahista is –
    Ahista, its good you didnt join there! Go to a wiser scientist. You can be a good scientist only if you know the value of your heart´s condition not of brain´s alone.

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      Dear RR,

      Thi is was a story meant for a small group of readers. Though it is a stand alone story, it has a deeper meaning. The meaning of which is very subtle.This is the reason the previous commentator is calls this story ‘fantastic’.

      Literally speaking I can understand, a month’s delay is nothing when you look for a life-time commitment.Do remember that Ahista was not asking for time to join. She was not even ‘clear’ if she would join. Apparently she was preparing herself to join the project for years, but she could not be decisive in the ‘right time’.

      One can find fault with dead lines and time tables.Let us not forget they are for our use and guidance.If I don’t respect the time table, I miss the bus.The transport industry does not loose anything.

      BTW, Do I know you?

  3. RR said

    Am a researcher troubling with timetables and deadlines these days, the things that I love but not able to accept these days! :).It does affect the efficiency of atleast a small group of people in certain situations. I was justifying my reasons to myself. So was getting irritated. well, it depends on people´s situations and priciples of the individuals and the organizations.

    cheers!

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      Good…You do concede that dead-lines are important though they are terrible 🙂
      Best wishes for you to meet your dead-lines…more importantly your purpose of your life.

      God bless…

  4. RR said

    Thanks for replying again. It makes me to think bit deeper about what is in my heart. Perhaps my first funny post couldnt say well what I really wanted to express.

    Yes I do love deadlines in the sense- time frames “required” for a work. I dont know the meaning that you were trying to convey in the first post. I just got excited with the deadline factor that was emphacized there by using such a job situation that I am also familiar with.

    I shall share what saw in Genesis Chapter 1 when the Lord was doing the work of creation who gave us an example of how to work. It was possible for God to create everything in a split moment and by a single command. “Let everything be”. But it was not done so. He did it orderly, each thing specifically and in a time frame of 6 days. And one more factor I noticed is its written “He saw it was good” after everyday of the creation except that of the second day. (Eerhaps He was making a “dead” line there 😛 (joking)). Here I see He enjoyed His work.

    So what seen here is order, time frame, and satisfaction.

    If a “dead line” policy can give all these factors together I love such dead lines.

    Otherwise it indeed handicaped. Usually employers dont care the satisfaction of the workers when they give deadlines- Sometimes they even dont know how much time it takes for a work to be done orderly. (And for a resercher he even doesnt know at times how it will progress and for how long till he gets some satisfactory results! But still he tries best to be inside the time frame.)
    I saw in the first post the empolyer doing the same. He was emphacizing on the time factor for a decision making to agree to do his work. He was not at all considering the condition of the worker whether he/she would be able to work effectively , if joined sooner considering only his point of view.

    So was I telling Ahista did the right. Its good not to give promise of commitment if dont have a true heart for it.

    Its hard to ask a painter to draw a painting of some waterfall within one hour while he was thinking about having a biriyani for lunch and hugry also..His waterfall painting will definitely look like some falling biriyani rice at the end of the hour!! ( exaggeration :)) .

    The employer must consider all the three factors if want “GOOD” work out of the worker when giving deadlines.

    Order of the work
    Satisfaction of the worker
    and then thirdly the time frame for the work.

    Its not the employer but the worker does the work. So its not so wise the worker shall work according to the time frame of the employer if the employer is not capable to give deadlines considering all the aspects above. For exaample,if the empolyer is not able to specify how to work a job step by step, its in vain giving dead line to do a job as he is not aware how much time it takes for each step of the work.

    And here I see something unjustice too, the employer is giving deadline to someone who´s decision to do the very work is affecting her personal life too, and he knows or enquires nothing about it! I see no justice there in denying the reconsideration of the candidate without even enquiring the seriousness of her trouble that delayed her decision making. If that reason was not satisfactory am very well agreeing with the employer. Somehow I did feel like the employer was considering only his made time factor to make decision in someother´s life plans!!

    Each person´s purpose of life shall not be guided by the expectations of fellow beings who can assure nothing about their future! They shall be well equiped to direct the sails of their life by their own hands strengthed by the creator of their life who knows well for what purpose they are sailing. I am remembering a similar post I put in another place. and it is not contradictiong here if considering the situations.

    Think I made my point of view clearer now and perhaps nothing to do with what you were really talking here. Sorry if misunderstood.

    Regards

    RR

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      That is the longest comment I have ever received in this blog. Congratulations 🙂

      I like the triad you wrote about, if employers want good work.
      1.Order of the work
      2.Satisfaction of the worker
      3.Time frame for the work.

      Employers have a slightly different triad from a hard-core management perspective.
      1.Quality of work.
      2.Time frame for the work.
      3.Budget alloted for the work.
      (It is likely for a person who is not a principal investigator to forget the budget issue 🙂 )

      Of course our discussion is far from the point I tried to make in the post. I see you have taken a lot of effort writing all this. So, I will send you a personal email about the context.

      Cheers!

  5. RR said

    Thanks Dr.

    Yes I understand now the deeper meaning of your article.

    Deadline, delayed response.. no other right candidate…

    Talking about the future US invasion in Iran? (jokes).

    I do wish to know your views as it will help me how to handle the issues like this that are possible in my career.

    God bless

  6. RR said

    Thanks! I understand better now!

    Still a word to the scientist.

    “A merchant was seeking fine pearls, and found one pearl of great price, so he went and sold all that he had, and bought it.”

    Because that man knew the value of that pearl and the profit he gets!

    So this scientist´s estimation got wrong at the first place or in the second place.

    So no more arguments! The scientist shall seek a finer pearl! Or try to understand the value of this pearl he is missing (Ahista) so that he shall go for a compromise (perhaps extending the deadline he made)!:)

  7. Haresh said

    A wonderful post 🙂

    The interviewer is right in turning the candidate down. No reply for two months isn’t a joke.

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      Thanks Haresh.I know you are my regular reader. This is the first time you are commenting. Thanks for taking that trouble. I will personally email you sometime.

  8. RPR said

    Well written as usual.

    Not knowing the context, I can only assume (perhaps) that this is meant to be a parable in the spirit of Matthew 25: 1-12…. if so, great job!

Leave a Reply

 
