Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Enjoying Teaching

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on November 21, 2009

I enjoy teaching. I recognized that in my school days itself.When I was in my 5th standard, my science teacher Mr Shastri organized remedial classes for students who were not doing well. I had to wait for a long time for my bus. So, I requested Mr Shastri to join those classes.Happily, he allowed me…I had a different role…of that of a teacher!

Since then, I always enjoyed teaching. In fact there are times I study with the hope that I ll get an opportunity to teach that knowledge and not necessarily use it. I enjoyed the seminars/ presentations that I had to do in my academic courses. In the past few years I have had opportunities to teach simple villagers, school students, nursing students and practicing nurses.

Few months ago, our hospital management asked me to take classes for nursing interns in a subject called “Health Economics”. I accepted to do it. I am throughly enjoying it. The textbook has bits and pieces of information. It was “cut and paste”  from various sources. It requires creative thinking to fill in the gaps! I enjoy making up examples and illustrations. I am about to complete the portions for their course.

Few days ago, the junior doctors of our hospital asked me to take few classes in Psychiatry to boost their performance in the Post Graduate entrance exams. I cannot believe it that I had energy to take a class till 1.30 am one night. Last week one senior of mine wanted to revise “analytical epidemiology”.  We went on till 2.30 am. I was more energetic the next day with lesser rest than usual. I am surprised, I am getting more energized with teaching than with sleep!

Most people in my mother’s family were teachers for over 3 generations. I always felt it was an unromantic job. Now I feel it is a thrilling one. What a joy it is to make another person understand a theory/ concept! It should be more thrilling if the student applies the learning in his life/ practice. It would take some time before I see that happen. Till then I will be enjoying teaching…

Leave a Reply

 
