Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

Exam Blues

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on August 11, 2009

exam preparation:drowning in information

exam preparation: drowning in information

I have exams coming up at the end of the month. Topics are related to management. IT in Management, Total Quality Management, Project Management and Business Communication. I need to cover about 15oo pages of absolutely new information in less than 3 weeks now, also working full time and being 24 hours on call.

OK, take up the challenge and just do it- so I thought a week ago. Find it difficult to settle down to read. I do get opportunities to read. I do it too. I read fast thinking I ll cover the ground and after I get a rough idea I could revise. I did this many times in my life and never managed to ‘digest’ all that was required to my heart’s content. I keep resolving to improve my study habits, but I don’t.

Of course, this time I have not wasted as much time procrastinating as I had in the past. It was only about 10 days ago that I received the books. Still…

Do I want to change my style? Probably I won’t. Read in a rush…get a vague idea…a big picture…add detail if possible…revise before exam…face it. That is the best that I could think of doing in a short period like this.

For the next set of exams in October,do I change my style? I sincerely hope that I do…

Leave a Reply

 
