Shrink's Views

ramblings of an unknown psychiatrist

“Just ensure that every drop of my blood is given to him”

Posted by Dheeraj Kattula on May 1, 2009

blood-bagIt was a busy OP day. A patient badly needed blood. I told his mother, “Madam, you must donate blood. Or else it would be difficult.” I have seen various expressions and reactions at such a request. I have never seen a face sink like that of hers. It had pain and sorrow. She said with tears in her eyes, “Doctor, can you please give me one day.” I told her that it was fine. Soon, she was gone.

Asking and getting blood is never easy. The reactions typically are, “Sir, we are labourers. How can we work if we give our blood?”. In trauma/ emergencies often most of the relatives disappear from the scene. The best way to disperse a crowd near a hospital casualty is to announce that 10 units of blood are required URGENTLY!!! This probably works better than tear gas shells 🙂

The next day, I saw her more steady than before. She said,” Sir, I am ready. I have made arrangements at home. My sister will take care of him after me. Just ensure that every drop of my blood is given to him. Nothing should go waste.” I had a shock. This lady thought that we would drain her of all her blood and she came ready to donate it ALL , to save her son’s life.

Many might disappear, on perception of having to part with what they value a lot. True love constrains one to give all that one has. Do you love someone so much?

My favourite treatise on love.

3 Responses to ““Just ensure that every drop of my blood is given to him””

  1. Dexter said

    Extremely moving story…..

    Sometime’s love is jus’ beyond me… it is truly a miracle… 🙂

  2. RR said

    Such a sweet story!! This would be one of my all time favourite stories.:)

    • Dheeraj Kattula said

      This really happened in Oddanchatram in 2004. It was true love. I might laugh at her ignorance, but that would be to suppress getting tears, remembering her attitude of sacrificial love.

Leave a Reply

 
